Our Residents

Sareth Sochan

1My name is Sareth Sochan. I am from Prek Jrey village, Prek Jrey commune, Koh Thom district, and Kandal province. I am in my freshman year at Cambodia Mekong University, majoring in Tourism and Hospitality Management.

I come from an extremely poor family of farmers. I am the second of five children, two boys, and three girls. In my village, children are encouraged to study up until grade nine, after which they are expected to work as garment workers in nearby factories… Sareth’s story >

 

Khourn Sreythuch

2My name is Khourn Sreythuch, I was born in Kokithom village, Kokithom commune, Kean Svay district and Kandal province. I am 20 years old and I have three siblings. My parents are coffee sellers, and they earn 50,000 riels ($12.50) per day.

When I was in grade 10 and 11, my mother encouraged me to work in the factory to help make our lives better. However, I didn’t agree with her. I said I wanted to pursue my education and finish high school… Khourn’s story >

 

Chantha Thang 

3My name is Chantha Thang and I am from Siem Reap province. I was born in a big family of ten in a remote area. In my village only a few students graduate from High School. This is usually because of a lack of finances, a lack of motivation, or a lack of understanding the importance of education.

In the four years after graduating high school, I ordained as a monk. As a student of the Lord Buddha I learned, practiced and experienced the teachings of Buddhism. Now I am pursuing a degree in International Human Rights Law. I believe that education can liberate me from poverty and unlock my potential… Chantha’s story >

 

Phai Er Vuthy

4My name is Phai Er Vuthy, and I am 21 years old. I was born in Kandal Province and am currently studying English at the Australian Centre for Education. I now work as an English teacher at the Kandal Community Centre, one of ACE’s projects. I have 5 siblings: 3 sisters and 2 brothers.

My mother is 60 years old and is a farmer. My father is 65 years old and is a cowboy. When I finished Grade 12 I did not have enough money to continue my studies. Instead, I became a part-time teacher at a private school for a year. All this changed when I joined ACE… Phai Er’s Story >

 

Thida Tep

5My name is Thida Tep and I am 23 years old. I grew up in a remote countryside village in Kep Province and lived there until I came to the capital. I was born to a family of thirteen children in Chamcarbei, a former Khmer Rouge stronghold, and my parents work very hard to feed the family.

After I graduated from secondary school, I was eager to pursue my studies at high school. However, my parents couldn’t financially support me since they needed to support my older brothers and sisters through their education too. I was asked to give up my studies to assist my parents with their work at home… Thida’s Story >

 

Phallen Kuch

6My name is Phallen Kuch and I am 21 years old. I come from Kampong Cham province, which is one of the most beautiful places in Cambodia. I am the first child in a family of six. My parents are farmers who work very hard to support us.

When I was in high school, my mother told me the bad news that I might not be able to study at university because she would not be able to support me. I was concerned since I didn’t want to drop out of school, and promised myself that I would pursue my education. When I finished high school in 2016, I passed the Chevening internship program supported by British Embassy of Cambodia. Through this, I got the chance to progress to study a degree at university. I was lucky enough to be introduced to the scholarship programme of the Advanced Centre for Empowerment (ACE) and decided to apply… Phallen’s story >

 

Soksambath Nguon

7My name is Soksambath Nguon, and I am 19 years old. I come from the Banteay Meanchey province. I live in a big family without my beloved father, who passed away in 2014.

Currently, I study English literature and French education at the University of Cambodia and IFL institute. Unfortunately, my life in the city had many issues regarding financial support. My sister introduced me to the Advanced Centre for Empowerment (ACE), where I could build my skills, learn more about myself and develop a better lifestyle… Soksambath’s story >

 

Sophany Chhoun

8I am 20 years old, and I was born in Preah Vihear province. I am a child of farmers. In my family, there are 8 siblings. I am the youngest child in the family. My parents farm to support my family in our small village. I am currently a second-year student in the faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities majoring in Public Management at National Institute of Social Affairs. 

I have observed that I am really passionate about social volunteerism as I have been developing my personality so far. I committed to joining the social work opportunities and volunteer work opportunities that the Advanced Centre offers… Sophany’s story >

 

Kress Tao

9I am 24 years old, and I was born in Takeo province. I have 4 siblings: 2 brothers, and 2 sisters. My parents are farmers; they don’t have much money to support me. I am now a second-year student in majoring in Business Management at Pannasastra University of Cambodia.

My ACE scholarship helped me get new experiences, and exposed me to a new environment, with free accommodation… Kress’ story >

 

Sreypich Moeurn 

10I am 20 years old, I am a first-year student who studies mid-wife in University of Health and Science, I was born in Phnom Penh, I have 5 siblings and I am the youngest one. My mother is a nun who stay in the pagoda. My sister is a factory worker and the main person who earns money to support our whole family with $150 a month.

Life starts to learn from bad things that I cannot forget, and I am very afraid of that. In my family, we had violence, unhappiness, hardship and abandonment. My mother did not have enough money to buy foods for children to eat. My family is poor, but we are different from other families because my mother gave opportunities to her daughters and sons to study… Sreypich’s story >

 

Phearom Va

11.jpgMy name is Va Phearom, I am 20 years old. I come from Pursat province. I am a first-year student at Pannasastra University of Cambodia (PUC), majoring in international relation and media art. I’m also a scholarship student at “Advanced Centre for Empowerment” (ACE).

I am working as an English teacher at Wat Thann Heimberg Center. In my future, I hope to become a successful business owner and a good leader… Phearom’s story >

 

 

Chendamony Thach

12Hello everyone, I am really happy to introduce myself to you all. My name is Chendamony Thach, and I am 25 years old. I was born in Kampuchea Krom in Khleang Province; it is located on the border of Cambodia and Vietnam.

I am the third in a family of three sons and three daughters. When I was fourteen years old I live in Dey Krahorm Village, a slum area where playing cards and drug abuse was rife. Around me, prostitutes sought sex and many kids were not able to go to school. If you have never lived there, you would be afraid: it is a place where people live after being forcibly evicted, 22 kilometers away from Phnom Penh. I wish to achieve my dream of becoming an architect and pursuing architecture and design… Chendamony’s story >

 

Hay Bunham

13My name is Hay Bunham. I am 22 years old and I am in my third year of studying medicine. I come from a family of moderate means in Kompong Thom province, but my parents still have to work hard to support my studies at university.

In 2015, I graduated from high school and came to Phnom Penh to start university, knowing nothing about the place.

I joined ACE in 2016… Hay’s story >

 

Rathana Sun                                                                 

14My name is Rathana Sun, I am 23 years old and I am from Kampong Thom province. I graduated from Vanda Institute with a major in accounting. I’m a former scholarship resident of Advanced Centre for Empowerment (ACE). In ACE, I volunteered as the Dormitory and Leadership Training Center (DLTC) coordinator while teaching the life skill training class every Friday night to all 17 residents.

In the future, I want to be a good leader of one NGO that can help kids, youths, and villagers to get a better life through education in my province… Rathana’s story >

 

Chantha Keav

16.pngMy name is Chantha Keav, I am 20 years old, and I am a former student at the Khompong Cherteal high school in Kompong Thom province. I have 5 members in my family. My family is extremely poor and lives in difficult conditions, without basic needs.

I always worked in a factory to earn money in order to support my studies and family during my summers. All of my past difficulties have made me stronger so that I can overcome any obstacle.

I am committed to myself and my future, and I will work hard to achieve my goal and become an English teacherChantha’s story >

 

Soriya Hing

17.pngMy name is Soriya Hing, I am 20 years old. I am a 1st-year student at the Royal University of Phnom Penh. I have 4 brothers and 3 sisters and I am from Poi Pet city. My father was a worker and could make about $200 per month, but now he retired and my mother is a housewife. When I was young I always helped my mother after I came back from school. It was hard to support my brother and sister and me.  I had decided to work in a factory to earn some money to buy books and clothes for attending school.

I earned a scholarship to stay in Advanced Centre for Empowerment. I do believe that ACE could help me get stronger, braver, and more confident through the trainings it provides… Soriya’s story >

 

Vichhara Kham

18.pngMy name is Vichhara Kham, and I am 22 years old. I come from the poorest, most remote region in Svay Rieng province. Now I’m in my 2nd year of studying Economic Development at Norton University. I have a big family, with eight siblings: four brothers and four sisters. I am the 7th child in the family. My parents are farmers. Some of my sisters work as garment workers and my brothers work in construction in order to help support my family.

I have been living in Phnom Penh since I graduated high school in 2012. I worked in a shoe factory for 3 months. Then I worked in a restaurant as a cashier. When I was working, I used to dream about studying at University and choosing the major that I am most interested in… Vichhara’s story >

 

 

 

Advertisements